I need a vacation.

I need a world tour. But, I do not need to pack for this trip.

I am, (in the real world) gearing up (slimming down?) for an eventual move from the seven room house, I’ve lived in since I was five, to an apartment in a senior citizen building. Every day I throw away moth and dust corrupted items once deemed useful, cute, important and needed, whether purchased, gifted, acquired, rescued, handed down, bought on impulse, or saved just in case. Dusty books, yellowed with age, read and unread, pages curling, sit in shopping bags next to cartons of rusty paint cans and cleaning supplies that must be taken to a hazardous waste site.

Bags and boxes of size six gloves, belts for someone else’s still girlish waist, used vcr tapes, old greeting cards, a Kitchen Aide mixer, a sewing machine, old clothing and potting soil have already been picked up, or crowd the hall waiting for local freecyclers to cart away to their loving home (bless them!)

Giving, bestowing, blessing, (I hope) and offering to others the still useful or otherwise lovely accumulation of a lifetime–here and now while I live and breathe–makes me feel like I’m playing Santa to friends and relatives who have given me so much in love, help, and affection in the past. Post-it notes help me remember who admired what.

So, Soul Food friends, forgive me if I am in no mood to pack suitcases of clothing, toiletries, and jewelry for the Advent Tour.
Journals and pens, I have, along with my Baby Dell, and a brain chock full of travel memories from the past eager to be turned into stories tweaked and embellished to fit the occasion.

2 Responses to “I Need a Vacation”

1. Heather Blakey Says:
November 29, 2006 at 12:03 pm edit

Excellent Barbara! I am so pleased that you are coming. And to think you can travel so lightly!
2. tinyfroglet Says:
December 2, 2006 at 11:48 pm edit

Mmmm. Wisdom, distilled. Tasty!

